Gold Cup-winner Sam Waley-Cohen one of nine new Members

12th December 2017

The Jockey Club has appointed nine new (Ordinary) Members at its Winter Meeting, held today in London.

These are:

  • Lady Celina Carter
  • Andrew Clark
  • Clarissa Daly
  • Thomas Greenall
  • Simon Marsh       
  • Ranald Morgan 
  • Hon William Vestey 
  • Sam Waley-Cohen
  • Charles Warde-Aldam 

Welcoming the new Members, Roger Weatherby, Senior Steward of The Jockey Club said:

“I’m delighted to welcome our new Members to The Jockey Club. Each has been appointed based on their passion, knowledge and commitment to our sport and to help us to fulfil our mission to act for the long-term good of British horseracing.”

Members are in effect 'trustees' and may not profit from their role, as all profits generated by The Jockey Club are invested into the sport.

About The Jockey Club
The Jockey Club stages thrilling sporting occasions including the Randox Health Grand National, The Cheltenham Festival and The Investec Derby. Millions of people every year enjoy the special experiences we offer through racing, music, food and entertainment. Governed by Royal Charter, every penny we make goes back into British Racing to help the sport thrive. We were founded in 1750 and today we are the largest commercial group in Britain’s second biggest spectator sport, operating 15 racecourses nationwide, The National Stud, Jockey Club Estates, Jockey Club Catering, Jockey Club Live and our charity, Racing Welfare. For more information visit