Our Board

Operating under a modern commercial Structure, The Jockey Club is run by a dynamic executive reporting to its Board of Stewards. The historic titles of ‘Stewards’ given to the Board of The Jockey Club are a reminder of its rich 264-year heritage.

Roger Weatherby
Senior Steward

Roger Weatherby was elected to The Jockey Club in 2007 and appointed a Steward in 2013. He began his five year-term as Senior Steward in July 2014. He has been Chief Executive ofWeatherbys Bank since 2000 and is non-executive Chairman of Arkle Finance and Weatherbys Hamilton LLP.

He has also been Chairman of Racing Welfare, The Jockey Club’s charity for racing’s people, and The Racing Foundation, the grant-making charity established to provide funds for charitable causes within, and associated to, the Thoroughbred racing and breeding industries.

Andrew Merriam
Deputy Senior Steward

Andrew Merriam is Deputy Senior Steward and chairman of Jockey Club Estates. He is also  a director of the British Horseracing Authority and a trustee of a number of racing charities including the British Racing School, Retraining of Racehorses and Racing to School.

Andrew holds a number of non-executive directorships including Fakenham Racecourse.

Julia Budd

Julia Budd was elected to The Jockey Club in 2008 and appointed a Steward in 2012. Julia is also Chairman of Epsom Downs Racecourse having taken up the role after The Investec Derby Festival 2016. Julia is a founding Partner of leading international search firm, The Zygos Partnership, and a member of the Government’s Professional and Business Services Council.

She is a Trustee of Racing to School, the sport’s education programme for schoolchildren and students, and a former racecourse steward at Epsom Downs, Kempton Park and Windsor.

The Lord Daresbury

Peter Daresbury was elected to The Jockey Club in 1984 and appointed a Steward in 2013. Peter is Chairman of Jockey Club Catering and The Jockey Club’s Haydock Park Racecourse, having held the same position at Aintree Racecourse for 25 years previously. He is also Chairman of Stellar Diamonds plc, Nasstar plc and Auriant Mining AB, and a non-executive director of Bespoke Hotels Ltd, Rusant Ltd and Pesto Restaurants. From 1997to 2000 he was Chief Executive of the Greenalls Group and non-executive Chairman of The De Vere Group plc from 2000 to 2006.

Justin Dowley

Justin Dowley was elected to The Jockey Club in 2013 and appointed a Steward in 2017. He was a director of The Ascot Authority between 2007 and 2015. He shares a number of horses with Michael Pescod, trained by Richard Hannon.
Justin’s career in merchant banking has spanned across Morgan Grenfell, MerrillLynch and Tricorn Partners. He is a non-executive director at a number of public and private companies including Melrose Industries, Scottish Mortgage Investment Trust, Novae and Boden.

The Hon Peter Stanley

Peter Stanley was elected a Member of The Jockey Club in December 2001 and appointed a Steward in 2014. Peter owns and manages New England Stud in Newmarket, where he has been in residence since 1983. He bred Maarek, the winner of the 2013 Prix de l’Abbaye. He also manages Stanley House Stud, where he bred seven-time Group 1 winner, Ouija Board and her dual Derby-winning son, Australia.

He is Chairman of The Jockey Club Rooms and The Racing Centre, which provides facilities and services to Stable and Stud staff. Peter is also a non-executive board director of Jockey Club Estates and was previously on the board of The National Stud, the Thoroughbred Breeders’ Association and the Animal Health Trust.

James Westoll

James Westoll was elected to The Jockey Club in 2012 and appointed a steward in 2017. James is a farmer in Cumbria and was a steward at Carlisle from 1980 before joining the board in 1993, becoming Chairman in 2009. James has a number of horses in training with Nicky Richards and James Ewart.