Newly Elected Members of the Jockey Club & Appointments for 2008

10th December 2007

Newly Elected Members of the Jockey Club & Appointments for 2008

At today's meeting of the Jockey Club, five new Members of the Jockey Club were elected. HRH Princess Haya of Jordan was elected an Honorary Member, and four new ‘Ordinary' Members were elected. Also at the meeting , the Stewards of the Jockey Club for 2008 were confirmed as:

Stewards of The Jockey Club - 2008

Julian Richmond-Watson, Senior Steward
Sir Michael Connell, Deputy Senior Steward
Ian Good
The Duke of Roxburghe
Jeff Smith
Nicholas Wrigley

The following were elected Members of the Jockey Club at a meeting of the Club on 10th December:

HRH Princess Haya of Jordan - Honorary Member HRH Princess Haya of Jordan, 35, was elected as an Honorary Member of the Jockey Club in December 2007. She has been a registered owner since 2004 and currently has over sixty horses in training. The Group 1 winning juvenile New Approach will carry her colours in 2008 and previous notable successes include that of Proclamation in the 2005 Sussex Stakes.

An experienced participant in a range of equestrian sports, Princess Haya represented Jordan in Show Jumping at the Sydney Olympic Games in 2000 and was the first rider to achieve World Championship status in both Show Jumping and Endurance. She is the President of the International Equestrian Federation (FEI) and earlier this year was elected as a member of the International Olympic Committee (IOC).

Princess Haya graduated from Oxford in Philosophy, Politics and Economics. She devotes much of her time to humanitarian causes, especially health, education and youth initiatives, and was the first woman to serve as Goodwill Ambassador for the United Nations World Food Program from 2005-2007. She is a member of the International Board of Directors of ‘Right to Play', a humanitarian organisation that uses sport and play to promote the physical and social development of the world's most disadvantaged children.

Lord Grimthorpe

Lord Grimthorpe, 53, was elected a Member of the Jockey Club in December 2007. Lord Grimthorpe is Racing Manager to Prince Khalid Abdullah and Juddmonte Farms. He is responsible for overseeing the worldwide Juddmonte racing operation which comprises around 250 horses in training. In 2003 successes on the track earned Prince Khalid Abdullah the distinction of receiving the leading owner award in three different racing jurisdictions, the United Kingdom, France and USA.

Previously, Lord Grimthorpe was a successful bloodstock agent, based at the head office of the British Bloodstock Agency for twenty years prior to undertaking his current role in 1999. Lord Grimthorpe is a member of the York Race Committee. His family's former stud operation at Westow Hall in Yorkshire was responsible for breeding Mrs McArdy, winner of the 1977 1000 Guineas.

Nicholas Jones

Nicholas Jones, 61, was elected a Member of the Jockey Club in December 2007. Chairman of the National Stud from 1991 to 2000, Nicholas has an in depth knowledge of both the breeding and racing industries.

At his Coln Valley Stud in Gloucestershire, he currently has nine broodmares; he also has seven horses in training spread between John Dunlop, Roger Charlton, Sir Mark Prescott, Hughie Morrison, Henrietta Knight, Richard Phillips and Harry Dunlop. His most notable horses have included Silk Petal, Star Tulip and Scarlet Runner.

Nicholas is Vice-Chairman of Lazard in London. He is also the senior independent director of Ladbrokes PLC and an independent director of Newbury Racecourse plc.

Gary Middlebrook

Gary Middlebrook, 53, was elected a Member of the Jockey Club in December 2007. A registered owner since 1989, he currently has horses in training with Eric Alston, James Given, Michael Bell and Sir Michael Stoute and also has over twenty broodmares.

The most notable horses he has bred include Love Everlasting, dual Group 1 winning sprinter Reverence and US Group 1 winner Singhalese. A Director of Haydock Park Racecourse and Trustee of Racing Welfare, Gary has also acted as a racecourse steward at Cartmel, Carlisle and Haydock Park. Outside his racing interests, he is on the Council of Lancaster University and a Director of a number of companies including Briery Homes Limited.

Roger Weatherby

Roger Weatherby, 45, was elected a Member of the Jockey Club in December 2007. A registered owner since 1983, Roger has been involved in various syndicates and ownerships as well as riding in hunter chases and point to points.

Roger has been a Trustee of Racing Welfare since 2001 and a Director of the British Horseracing Education and Standards Trust since 2005. In 2006, he completed the ‘Numis Polar Challenge' walking to the South Pole to raise money for Racing Welfare. Roger is Chief Executive of Weatherbys Bank Ltd, having previously spent eleven years at Cazenove & Co.

Notes for Editors

There are 21 Honorary Members and 127 Ordinary Members of the Jockey Club.

The Jockey Club's commercial interests comprise Jockey Club Racecourses, Britain largest racecourse group which stages four of the five classics along with the Cheltenham Festival and Aintree Grand National Meeting, and Jockey Club Estates, the Club's property and land management company responsible for the public training grounds in Newmarket and Lambourn.

The Jockey Club is the sole member of the charity Racing Welfare.

The Jockey Club is currently in negotiations with the Government and the Levy Board over the proposed transfer of the running of the National Stud to the Jockey Club.