Toby Balding elected Honorary Member of The Jockey Club

13th December 2005

Toby Balding elected Honorary Member of the Jockey Club

Nicholas Wrigley appointed a Steward of the Jockey Club 

Following a lifetime’s involvement and contribution to racing, Toby Balding has been elected an Honorary Member of the Jockey Club. The election was confirmed at Monday’s meeting of the Members of the Jockey Club, at which the former trainer was among seven new members elected to the Club. At the meeting it was also confirmed that Nicholas Wrigley would begin a three year term as a Steward of the Jockey Club from January 2006. Nicholas Wrigley is a Director of NM Rothschild and Sons Ltd and Chairman of the York Race Committee. He replacesMark Davies who stands down after five years service as a Steward. 


Julian Richmond-Watson Senior Steward, Sir Michael Connell, Deputy Senior Steward Michael Henriques, Andrew Merriam, Jeff Smith Bill, Whittle and Nicholas Wrigley.

The following was elected an Honorary Member of the Jockey Club at a meeting of the Jockey Club on 12th December:

Toby Balding 

Toby Balding, 69, has had a lifetime of involvement with the racing industry. At the age of 20 he was Britain's youngest trainer, holding a licence from 1957 to 2004. During his career he trained the winner of the Grand National twice, the Champion Hurdle twice and the Cheltenham Gold Cup, as well as several other major Jump and Flat races. For over 40 years he has worked on behalf of trainers and racing, lobbying and negotiating for improvements on a wide range of issues, including stable staff accident and pension schemes, Owner / Trainer agreements, Conditional and Apprentice jockeys’ training, NH race planning and a number of safety and welfare initiatives. Among other positions, he has been Chairman of the NTF’s NH Committee from 1974 to 2001 and served on the ROA Council. He also nurtured the early careers of several top class jockeys, including Adrian Maguire and Tony McCoy. He currently part owns five horses in training with his son in law, Jonathan Geake. 

The following were elected Ordinary Members of the Jockey Club at a meeting of the Jockey Club on 12th December: 

Michael Banks OBE

Michael Banks, 66, is Company Director and Chairman of the property and agriculture business Sanwalton PLC. His family farms over 1000 acres of land and he was awarded the OBE in 1996 for services to agriculture. An owner and a permit holder for over 30 years (training over 20 winners under rules), he has recently had horses in training with Paul Webber and Willie Jarvis. A Chairman of racecourse stewarding panels since 1986, he has served at Huntingdon, Leicester, Newmarket andWarwick.   

Ian Good CBE 

Ian Good, 62, is Chairman of Scotland's largest private company, The Edrington Group, who produce a number of Scotch whisky brands including The Famous Grouse and The Macallan. He was awarded the CBE in 1992 for services to the Scotch Whisky industry.  He is Chairman of Hamilton Park Racecourse and also Chairman of Scottish Racing, the group established to promote horseracing in Scotland. He has been an owner since 1987, primarily with Mary Reveley.  He currently has one horse in training with Keith Reveley and has one broodmare.  

Chris Harper

Chris Harper, 63, is one of the leading thoroughbred breeders in Great Britain. He owns and runs Whitsbury Manor Stud in Hampshire, whose current stallion roster includes the prolific Cadeaux Genereux, as well asCompton Place and Avonbridge. An owner since 1973, Chris also owns Whitsbury Manor Racing Stables, currently the training base for David Elsworth but soon to be occupied by Ralph Beckett.  He has served on a number of Committees connected to the racing and breeding industry, including the Animal Health Trust, as well as being a former Council member of the TBA, a Governor of the Equine Fertility Unit and former director of the National Stud. 

John F. Jarvis CVO, CBE

John Jarvis, 62, is the Chairman of Jarvis Hotels, the hotel company he founded in 1990 after a 15-year career with Ladbrokes and Hilton, where he became Chairman and Chief Executive of Hilton International worldwide. In 1993 John was awarded the CBE for services to tourism, and in 2000 was awarded the CVO for services to HRH Prince of Wales for chairmanship of The Prince's Trust. Previously a Board member of United Racecourses, he became Chairman of Sandown Park Racecourse in 2003, and was Chairman of Sporting Index from 2003-05.  He owns and has part-ownership in horses currently in training with Nicky Henderson, Mick Channon, Richard Hannon, and Brian Meehan. 

Lord Rathcreedan

Christopher Rathcreedan, 56, is an auctioneer and valuer of pedigree cattle.  Currently one of four nominated Chairmen of the Disciplinary Panel. He is one of the most experienced racecourse stewards in the country, having acted at Ascot, Epsom, Bath, Kempton, Newbury and Wincanton. He was Chairman of Bath Racecourse until its sale to Northern Racing and is a current member of the Turf Club racing syndicate which currently has horses in training with Nicky Henderson and Hughie Morrison. 

Lady Carolyn Warren

Lady Carolyn Warren, 43, has had a lifetime involvement in the bloodstock industry, working closely with her late father, Lord Carnarvon, and her husband, bloodstock agent, John Warren.  Following the death of Lord Carnarvon, she and her husband took over the ownership and management of Highclere Stud, which currently stands the stallions Efisio and Dr Fong and has a broodmare band of 18 mares, as well as consigning yearlings, mares and foals for other breeders. Her initial employment in racing was with Pacemaker Publications, editing the Directory of The Turf prior to moving on to video production, producing and editing stallion advertising for many of the leading stud farms. A registered owner since 1999, her previous horses include Lingfield Oaks Trial winner Birdie and Tora Bora, as well as the listed placed Tincture, currently in training with Christophe Clement in the USA.