Skip to main content Skip to site footer

The Epsom Princess Elizabeth Stakes

About the race & the history

Princess_Elizabeth_Stakes_Dual (1).jpg

The Princess Elizabeth Stakes is held on the second day of the Derby at Epsom Downs, on the same day as the title race. Although it may garner less attention than The  Derby, the race is highly prestigious and has an interesting history. Read on to find out more about the Princess Elizabeth Stakes horse race.

The Princess Elizabeth Stakes is a Group 3 Flat race open to fillies and mares aged three and over. It takes place at The Jockey Club’s Epsom Downs racecourse over a distance of one mile and 113 yards. The race is the second race run on Cazoo Derby Day during The Cazoo Derby Festival, which takes place in early June every year.


The origins of the Princess Elizabeth Stakes come from a separate event with the same name which used to take place at Epsom Downs racecourse in April each year. This race was a trial for The Oaks, but moved to Kempton Park in 1991, and was discontinued in 1992.

The present version of the Princess Elizabeth Stakes used to be known as the Victress Stakes, which was a Listed race first run in 1995. In 2001 the race was renamed the Princess Elizabeth Stakes in 2001, and in 2004 was promoted to Group 3 level.

Princess_Stakes_Dual_2 (1).jpg


Bashkirova ridden by Tom Marquand won the 2022 Princess Elizabeth Stakes.



Parent’s Prayer won the 2021 Princess Elizabeth stakes with odds of 4/1, ridden by Oisin Murphy and trained by Archie Watson. 


In 2020 the Princess Elizabeth Stakes was won by Summer Romance at odds of 9/1. She was ridden by jockey William Buick, and the trainer was Charlie Appleby.

In 2019, the winner of the Princess Elizabeth Stakes was Anna Nerium at odds of 9/2, ridden by Jockey Tom Marquand and trained by Richard Hannon.

Wilamina was the 2018 winner of the Princess Elizabeth Stakes with odds of 7/2, ridden by Frankie Dettori and trained by Martyn Meade.

In 2017 the Princess Elizabeth Stakes winner was Laugh Aloud at odds of 4/5. The horse was ridden by jockey James Doyle and trained by John Gosden.

Three horses have won the Princess Elizabeth Stakes twice, and all of them won in consecutive years: Echelon, who won in 2006 and 2007; Antara, winner in 2010 and 2011; and Thistle Bird, who won in 2013 and 2014.

You might also like

Race Results

View the placed results from recent years of The Derby.

View More

One Chance for Immortality

What makes the Epsom Derby so special?

View More

The Betfred Derby Festival Facts

Find out key facts about The Betfred Derby Festival, including past winners, history and trivia about the world’s greatest flat race.

View More

Cookie Policy

We use “cookies” to help enhance your experience and improve the functionality of our website. You can find out more in our cookie policy. We also serve cookies, some with chocolate chips, on our racecourses.