Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Nine declared for the Ladbrokes King George VI Chase

Article 23rd December 2020 Kempton Park

By Kempton Park Racecourse

A field of nine have been declared for the Ladbrokes King George VI Chase at Kempton Park Racecourse on Saturday 26 December.

Clan Des Obeaux - the winner in 2018 & 2019 - will be bidding to join Kauto Star and Desert Orchid by winning a third consecutive King George VI Chase and is currently 15/8 favourite to retain his title with sponsors Ladbrokes. Nicholls will be seeking a twelfth win in the race and is also represented by Britain’s highest rated chaser and last year’s runner-up Cyrname. Frodon and Real Steel make up the Nicholls team. 

Gold Cup runner-up Santini, supplemented for the Ladbrokes King George VI Chase on Monday, was also confirmed for the race by champion trainer Nicky Henderson. 

Lostintranslation will fly the flag for dual Ladbrokes King George VI Chase winning-trainer Colin Tizzard. Lostintranslation finished third in the Gold Cup at the Cheltenham Festival in March, having been pulled-up in the King George VI Chase when sent off 15/8 second favourite last year.

Waiting Patiently will be hoping for better luck in this year’s renewal, having been brought down when travelling nicely in 2018. The Ruth Jefferson trained nine-year-old will be having his first run since finishing third in last year’s Tingle Creek Chase. 

Tom George will be represented by Black Op, who finished ninth in the Ladbrokes Trophy at Newbury last month, whilst Harry Whittington could run Ryanair Chase runner-up Saint Calvados.


To win the Ladbrokes King George VI Chase - the sponsor’s bet:

Clan Des Obeaux 15/8 

Cyrname 2/1

Santini 6/1

Lostintranslation 13/2

Real Steel 14/1

Waiting Patiently 16/1

Frodon 25/1

Saint Calvados 18/1

Black Op 50/1


Cookie Policy

We use “cookies” to help enhance your experience and improve the functionality of our website. You can find out more in our cookie policy. We also serve cookies, some with chocolate chips, on our racecourses.