Skip to main content Skip to site footer


Press Release 23rd March 2021 Aintree

Paul Nicholls hopes to continue his fine record at Aintree’s Randox Grand National Festival and has three contenders for this year’s Grade Three Randox Topham Handicap Chase.

The Ditcheat trainer won the 2m 5f race over the Grand National fences with Gwanako back in 2008 and looks likely to have a strong squad for the meeting again this year.

Speaking about his chances in the contest, which takes place on day two of the Randox Grand National Festival (Friday 9th April), he said: “I have entered three - Magic Saint, Modus and My Way, and the classiest would be the first two.

“Modus ran a really nice race over the National fences in December and we’ve left him to have him nice and fresh for this race. Magic Saint is a good jumper and I feel a step up in trip would do him a world of good. A flat track suits him and he’s a nice horse.”

Meanwhile, My Way was an impressive winner of the Close Brothers Motor Finance Handicap Chase at Kempton Park last month, and Nicholls feels that his charge may be high enough in the weights at the moment after finishing fifth at the same track at the weekend.

He said: “My Way ran ok at the weekend. Basically he won nicely there last month and went up 9lb, which didn’t help too much and he had plenty of weight. But he’s fine after Saturday.”

There are a total of 50 entries for the Randox Topham Chase, which can be found below.

The Randox Topham Chase

  • Amalfi Doug (FR) 11 The County Set (Seven) & Partner Keith Dalgleish
  • Annamix (FR) 8 Mrs S. Ricci W. P. Mullins
  • Balko des Flos (FR) 10 Gigginstown House Stud Henry de Bromhead
  • Caid du Lin (FR) 9 Foxtrot Racing Dr Richard Newland
  • Caribean Boy (FR) 7 Mr Simon Munir & Mr Isaac Souede Nicky Henderson
  • Court Master (IRE) 8 Mrs Lynne Maclennan Michael Scudamore
  • Debece (GB) 10 Mr Robert Kirkland Dan Skelton
  • Dunvegan (FR) 8 G. Turner/Clipper Logistics Group Ltd P. A. Fahy
  • Fan de Blues (FR) 6 Mr Simon Munir/Mr Isaac Souede W. P. Mullins
  • Farclas (FR) 7 Gigginstown House Stud Mrs Denise Foster
  • Glen Forsa (IRE) 9 Mr T. P. Radford Mick Channon
  • Go Another One (IRE) 9 Ms Caroline Ahearn John McConnell
  • Hogan's Height (IRE) 10 Foxtrot Racing: Hogan's Height Jamie Snowden
  • Huntsman Son (IRE) 11 Mrs Wendy Wesley Alex Hales
  • Ibleo (FR) 8 The Bellamy Partnership Venetia Williams
  • I'm To Blame (IRE) 8 The Gilbert's & Mr Campbell Keith Dalgleish
  • Janika (FR) 8 Mr Simon Munir & Mr Isaac Souede Nicky Henderson
  • Jett (IRE) 10 Mr Robert Waley-Cohen Mrs J. Harrington
  • Kauto Riko (FR) 10 Mr and Mrs J.Dale and Partners Tom Gretton
  • Livelovelaugh (IRE) 11 Mrs S. Ricci W. P. Mullins
  • Lostintranslation (IRE) 9 Taylor & O'Dwyer Colin Tizzard
  • Lust For Glory (IRE) 8 Annabel Waley-Cohen and Family Nicky Henderson
  • Magic Saint (FR) 7 Mr and Mrs J. D. Cotton Paul Nicholls
  • Modus (GB) 11 Mr John P. McManus Paul Nicholls
  • Morning Vicar (IRE) 8 The Parishioners Nicky Henderson
  • My Way (FR) 7 Chris Giles Paul Nicholls
  • Outlander (IRE) 13 Gowing's Eleven Richard Spencer 
  • Pink Eyed Pedro (GB) 10 Mr David Brace David Brace
  • Pougne Bobbi (FR) 10 Straightline Bloodstock Keith Dalgleish
  • Precious Cargo (IRE) 8 Mr T. Barr Nicky Henderson
  • Ravenhill Road (IRE) 10 Phil & Julie Martin Sue Smith
  • Realm Keeper (USA) 8 Venetia Williams Racehorse Syndicate V Venetia Williams
  • Relentless Dreamer (IRE) 12 Mr Nigel Morris Rebecca Curtis
  • Robin des Foret (IRE) 11 Byerley Racing Syndicate W. P. Mullins
  • Romain de Senam (FR) 9 Chris Giles Dan Skelton
  • Senior Citizen (GB) 8 McNeill Family Alan King
  • Sir Jack Yeats (IRE) 10 Gowing's Eleven Richard Spencer
  • Snow Leopardess (GB) 9 Andrew Fox-Pitt Charlie Longsdon
  • Snugsborough Hall (IRE) 10 Rising Sun Partnership L. P. Cusack
  • Springtown Lake (IRE) 9 Tim Syder Philip Hobbs
  • Storm Control (IRE) 8 Mr Will Roseff Kerry Lee
  • Templepark (GB) 8 Mrs Carolyn Kendrick Fergal O'Brien
  • Three Musketeers (IRE) 11 Mr Frank McAleavy Mrs Denise Foster
  • Tinkers Hill Tommy (IRE) 10 Mr W. D. Lewis Rebecca Curtis
  • Tiquer (FR) 13 Burnham P & D Ltd Alan Jones
  • Two For Gold (IRE) 8 May We Never Be Found Out Partnership 2 Kim Bailey
  • Up Helly Aa King (GB) 10 Jean Matterson & J Douglas Miller N. W. Alexander
  • Us And Them (IRE) 8 Burnham P & D Ltd Joseph Patrick O'Brien
  • Visioman (FR) 8 Mr A. Halsall Henry de Bromhead
  • Zalvados (FR) 8 Mr D. C. Mercer Oliver Greenall


Cookie Policy

We use “cookies” to help enhance your experience and improve the functionality of our website. You can find out more in our cookie policy. We also serve cookies, some with chocolate chips, on our racecourses.