Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Haggas hopes Sinjaari can go the distance in Wild Flower Stakes

30th November 2020 Kempton Park

By All-Weather Championships

John Smith’s Cup victor Sinjaari steps up in trip for a competitive renewal of the £36,000 Listed Unibet Wild Flower Stakes (6.30pm, nine runners) over 12 furlongs at Kempton Park on Wednesday, December 2.

Sinjaari (William Haggas/Tom Marquand) posted a career best on his first All-Weather start in the 10-furlong Listed Betway Churchill Stakes at Lingfield Park on November 14, finishing a staying-on second behind Dubai Warrior.

Sinjaari, a four-year-old son of Camelot, has raced over 12 furlongs twice before, the pick of those efforts coming when eighth in the King George V Handicap at Royal Ascot in 2019.

Trainer William Haggas, who won this race in 2019 with Pablo Escobarr, said: “Sinjaari is fine.

“We are trying him over a mile and a half again, as knowing whether or not he gets the trip will help with plans for next year.

“When he runs over 10 furlongs, he shapes as if he will get a bit further, and Tom feels he will as well, so we will see. I think he will be OK.”

Admirable stayer Red Verdon (Ed Dunlop/Ryan Moore) shoulders a 7lb penalty thanks to a G2 win in France earlier in the campaign. The seven-year-old was third in a G2 contest in Italy on his most recent outing in October.

Listed scorer Sextant (Richard Kingscote), formerly owned by The Queen and trained by Sir Michael Stoute, has his first start for Straightline Bloodstock and trainer Keith Dalgleish after changing hands for 76,000 guineas at Tattersalls in October.

Johnny Drama (Silvestre de Sousa), one of two runners for Andrew Balding, is chasing a four-timer after two handicap victories at Kempton Park and last week’s impressive conditions race success at Southwell. Balding’s other runner Tribal Craft (David Probert) finished fourth in the Listed Unibet 3 Uniboosts A Day Floodlit Stakes over the course and distance on November 3.

Leading Irish trainer Joseph O’Brien sends over two runners, headed by Snapraeceps (William Buick), runner-up in a Listed contest at Naas on her penultimate start. She is joined by Punchestown maiden scorer Sagrada Familia (Jamie Spencer).

The nine runners are completed by Jeremiah (Charlie Fellowes/Andrea Atzeni), a handicap winner at Ascot in July, and Dono Di Dio (Michael Madgwick/Stefano Cherchi), a three-time winner at Kempton Park but someway adrift of the principals on ratings.


About the All-Weather Championships

Season eight of the All-Weather Championships runs from Tuesday, October 20, 2020 and culminates with All-Weather Championships Finals Day on Good Friday, April 2, 2021 at Lingfield Park.

The six championship categories are:

  • Three-Year-Olds sponsored by Ladbrokes - 6f Final
  • Fillies & Mares sponsored by Ladbrokes - 7f Final
  • Mile sponsored by Bombardier - 1m Final
  • Sprint sponsored by Betway - 6f Final
  • Marathon sponsored by Betway - 2m Final
  • Middle Distance sponsored Betway - 10f Final


There are two ways for horses to qualify for one of the finals on All-Weather Championships Finals Day at Lingfield Park:

* A horse can win a 'Fast Track Qualifier' race which will ensure a FREE and GUARANTEED place in the corresponding final on Good Friday. There are four Fast Track Qualifiers in each of the six Championship Categories hosted at racecourses in Great Britain, Ireland and France. If a filly wins any of the Fast-Track Qualifier races for either the Sprint or the Mile categories, the filly will be qualified for the final of that specific category, or for the Fillies and Mares Final.


* A horse must run a minimum of three times on the All-Weather surfaces in Great Britain, Ireland and France; or twice on the All-Weather surfaces in Great Britain, Ireland, France and once on dirt in Dubai during the qualifying period between October 20, 2020 and the six-day entry stage for the finals (Saturday, March 28, 2021) and then be rated high enough to 'make the cut' in a final by order of its BHA Rating.

In addition, prizes will be awarded to each of the All-Weather Champions - the 'All Stars' - based on the number of winners at the end of the All-Weather Championships season:

Champion All-Weather Jockey (winner and runner up)

Champion All-Weather Apprentice Jockey (winner and runner up)

Champion All-Weather Trainer

Champion All-Weather Owner

Winning Most All-Weather Horse


For details of the 24 Fast-Track Qualifiers, please click here:



Cookie Policy

We use “cookies” to help enhance your experience and improve the functionality of our website. You can find out more in our cookie policy. We also serve cookies, some with chocolate chips, on our racecourses.