Skip to main content Skip to site footer

A history of the bet365 Jump Finale

Article 23rd April 2021 Sandown Park

The bet365 Jump Finale is as much a part of Britain’s Jump racing season as some of the biggest feature races and festivals throughout the year.

Marking the end of each season, the April raceday is a chance to see some of the most talented horses in training for a final time before they take a break, while also celebrating the achievements of the champion jockey, trainer, conditional jockey and owner.

From the creation of the two-day mixed Flat and Jump meeting to the final ride of legendary jockey AP McCoy’s career, we take a look at the key milestones of the fixture throughout the years and how the bet365 Jump Finale was first created…

1957 – The Whitbread Gold Cup is run for the first time and the first Jump race to be commercially sponsored is won by Much Obliged. It is the only chase staged on an otherwise all Flat Saturday card.

1995 – A second chase is added to the Saturday fixture – the Grade Two Silver Trophy over two and a half miles.

1999 – A third chase is added to the Saturday programme – a novices’ handicap chase over two and a half miles.


2000 – The Saturday card becomes the official end of the Jump season, even though Jump racing continues the following day. Presentations are made to the champion owner (Robert Ogden), trainer (Martin Pipe) and jockey (AP McCoy). 

2001 – The foot and mouth epidemic causes the cancellation of the Cheltenham Festival. The Sandown Park programme is altered to become two days of mixed racing, including hurdle races for the first time. The altered programme contains four contests which act as substitute races for those lost at Cheltenham – a three mile Gold Trophy (won by Marlborough), a two mile Championship Chase (won by Edredon Bleu), a two mile Championship Hurdle (won by Landing Light) and the three mile Distance Hurdle (won by Baracouda). This is the final year of Whitbread’s sponsorship.

2002 – The two day mixed meeting is retained. The two mile chase is now named the Queen Mother Celebration Chase, in memory of The Queen Mother, a great supporter of Sandown Park who died on March 30th that year.

2005 – The Celebration Chase is elevated to Grade Two status.

2008 – Friday reverts to an all Flat card while Saturday is an equal split – four Flat and four Jump races.

2014 – Saturday becomes an all Jump card for the first time. The Celebration Chase becomes a Grade One contest. The Oaksey Chase (2m 6f 164y) and Select Hurdle (2m 5f 110y) are created. A four-day break in the Jump Fixture list is created, which now stands at six days.

2015 – After 4,357 winners and collecting his 20th Champion Jump Jockey trophy earlier in the afternoon, AP McCoy brings down the curtain on his career. He is out of luck on his final day in the saddle, finishing third on his last mount, Box Office.

2016 – The Oaksey Chase becomes a Grade Two contest. After finishing runner-up to AP McCoy in the Jump Jockeys’ Championship on no fewer than 16 occasions, Richard Johnson is finally crowned Champion Jump Jockey.

2017 – The Select Hurdle becomes a Grade Two contest.

2020 – The COVID-19 pandemic forces the suspension of racing and the cancellation of the bet365 Jump Finale.



Champion Owner

2019–20 J P McManus

2018–19 J P McManus

2017–18 J P McManus

2016–17 J P McManus

2015–16 Gigginstown House Stud

2014–15 J P McManus

2013–14 J P McManus

2012–13 J P McManus

2011–12 J P McManus

2010–11 Trevor Hemmings

2009–10 J P McManus

2008–09 J P McManus

2007–08 David Johnson

2006–07 J P McManus

2005–06 J P McManus

2004–05 David Johnson

2003–04 David Johnson

2002–03 David Johnson

2001–02 David Johnson

2000–01 Robert Ogden

1999–00 Robert Ogden


Champion Trainer

2019–20 Nicky Henderson

2018–19 Paul Nicholls

2017–18 Nicky Henderson

2016–17 Nicky Henderson

2015–16 Paul Nicholls

2014–15 Paul Nicholls

2013–14 Paul Nicholls

2012–13 Nicky Henderson

2011–12 Paul Nicholls

2010–11 Paul Nicholls

2009–10 Paul Nicholls

2008–09 Paul Nicholls

2007–08 Paul Nicholls

2006–07 Paul Nicholls

2005–06 Paul Nicholls

2004–05 Martin Pipe

2003–04 Martin Pipe

2002–03 Martin Pipe

2001–02 Martin Pipe

2000–01 Martin Pipe

1999–00 Martin Pipe


Champion Jockey

2019–20 Brian Hughes

2018–19 Richard Johnson

2017–18 Richard Johnson

2016–17 Richard Johnson

2015–16 Richard Johnson

2014–15 A P McCoy

2013–14 A P McCoy

2012–13 A P McCoy

2011–12 A P McCoy

2010–11 A P McCoy

2009–10 A P McCoy

2008–09 A P McCoy

2007–08 A P McCoy

2006–07 A P McCoy

2005–06 A P McCoy

2004–05 A P McCoy

2003–04 A P McCoy

2002–03 A P McCoy

2001–02 A P McCoy

2000–01 A P McCoy 

1999–2000 A P McCoy


Champion Conditional Jockey

2019-20 Jonjo O’Neill Jnr

2018-19 Bryony Frost

2017-18 James Bowen

2016-17 Harry Cobden

2015-16 Craig Nichol

2014-15 Sean Bowen

2013-14 Gavin Sheehan

2012-13 Lucy Alexander

2011-12 Henry Brooke

2010-11 Sam Twiston-Davies

2009-10 Rhys Flint

2008-09 Aidan Coleman

2007-08 Brian Hughes

2006-07 Tom O’Brien

2005-06 Will Kennedy

2004-05 Paddy Brennan

2003-04 Jamie Moore

2002-03 Marcus Foley

2001-02 Henry Oliver

2000-01 Noel Fehily

1999-00 Alan Dempsey



Cookie Policy

We use “cookies” to help enhance your experience and improve the functionality of our website. You can find out more in our cookie policy. We also serve cookies, some with chocolate chips, on our racecourses.