Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Oops, your browser is out of date - Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.


the stayers' hurdle

On Day three at The Festival™ presented by Magners

The ultimate stamina test for hurdlers, The Stayers’ Hurdle Race is run over three miles.


Recent winners on the Roll of Honour include Baracouda, Inglis Drever, Big Buck’s and more recently Thistlecrack.

last season's winner


Owner Andrew Gemmell was all smiles in the winner's enclosure after Paisley Park justified 11/8 favouritism to land the G1 Stayers' Hurdle.


Trained by Emma Lavelle and ridden by Aidan Coleman, Paisley Park looked to have it all to do entering the home straight, but he displayed a potent turn of foot to take the lead approaching the final flight.


Despite an untidy leap, the seven-year-old son of Oscar ran on willingly for Coleman's urgings to score by two and three-quarter lengths.


Gemmell, who has been blind since birth, said: "This is fantastic and a real dream for me. I cannot believe it has happened. I still had hopes [during the race] because we know that is the way Paisley Park runs. I hope this is the first of many because I will keep coming back. We are so chuffed and we're all in tears."


Roll of Honour

(2013 - 2019)







Paisley Park


Emma Lavelle




Willie Mullins (Ire)


Nichols Canyon


Willie Mullins (Ire)




Colin Tizzard


Cole Harden


Warren Greatrex


More Of That


Jonjo O’Neill




Charles Byrnes (Ire)

history of the Stayers’ Hurdle Race 


The Stayers’ Hurdle is the most prestigious long-distance hurdle race in the calendar. It was introduced to The Festival in 1972 when it replaced the Spa Hurdle and was initially known as the Lloyds Bank Stayers’ Hurdle.


Originally held on Tuesday or Wednesday until it was switched to Thursday in 1993, the inaugural race was won by Parlour Moor who was trained by Harry Thomson Jones and ridden by Macer Gifford.


Tommy Carberry steered Brown Lad to victory in 1975 for trainer Jim Dreaper before becoming the first jockey to win the race twice when partnering the Peter Easterby-trained Town Ship to victory in 1977.


In 1982 Crimson Embers gave Fulke Walwyn his first of three Stayers’ Hurdle successes when partnered by Stuart Shilston and the trio combined again four years later when Crimson Embers became the first horse to regain the title and at eleven, the oldest winner of the race. Galmoy became the first horse to win back-to-back renewals in 1987 and 1988 for trainer John Mulhern and jockey Tommy Carmody. The Barry Hills-trained Nomadic Way was equally at home racing on the level or over hurdles and in 1992 won the Stayers’ Hurdle with those famous Sangster colours carried by Jamie Osborne.


Martin Pipe recorded the first of two Stayers’ Hurdle successes in 1994 when Balasani held off all challengers under Mark Perrett and two years later Cyborgo followed suit when ridden by David Bridgwater.


Multiple winners were aplenty in the 2000s. The French raider Baracouda set the trend when winning in the famous silks of J. P. McManus in 2002 and 2003 for Francois and Thierry Doumen.


2005 proved a landmark year for more than one reason. The title of the race was changed to the World Hurdle when Ladbrokes took over the sponsorship and it also saw the emergence of one of the best-known names associated with the race.


The Howard Johnson-trained Inglis Drever dominated the race during the mid-part of the decade winning three times in 2005, 2007 and 2008. Graham Lee did the steering for his first success whilst Paddy Brennan took over for his second success and Denis O’Regan for the third, meaning that Inglis Drever is the only multiple winner in the race’s history to be ridden by three different jockeys.


Prior to 2009 Paul Nicholls had been out of luck in the Stayers’ Hurdle but one horse stepped forward to change all that. Big Buck’s hadn’t looked anything out of the ordinary in his native France, winning twice from 13 starts, but in the hands of Nicholls he blossomed into the best hurdler of his generation and arguably the best we have ever seen.


The 2009 Festival provided the springboard to a career that saw him win back-to-back Stayers’ Hurdles from 2009 to 2012 under the tutorage of Ruby Walsh. In fact, from January 2009 to December 2012 the stylish hurdler went a total of 18 races unbeaten.


In four short years, Big Buck’s, Paul Nicholls and Ruby Walsh became the most successful horse, trainer and jockey in the race’s history. Injury prevented the superstar defending his title in 2013 when the Charles Byrnes-trained Solwhit took full advantage under Paul Carberry – 36 years after his father had won with Town Ship.


With Sun Racing taking over the sponsorship in 2017 and changing the race title back to the Stayers’ Hurdle, the final World Hurdle saw Colin Tizzard’s brilliant hurdler Thistlecrack land the spoils, stretching clear up the famous Cheltenham hill to win by seven lengths at the line. 


The inaugural Stayers’ Hurdle saw trainer Willie Mullins gain a first success in the 3m prize with Nichols Canyon and Mullins was back in the Winner’s Enclosure twelve months later with Penhill.


Owner Andrew Gemmell was all smiles in the winner's enclosure after Paisley Park justified 11/8 favouritism to land the G1 Stayers' Hurdle in 2019. 


Who will be crowned the Stayers' Hurdle winner at The Festival™ presented by Magners 2020? Book your tickets now for Day Three to find out and join us on Thursday 12th March 2020. 


Buy Official Day Three Tickets

Join us on 12th March for Day Three of The Festival™ presented by Magners. Buy your tickets before 10:59am on 31st January for the best price. 

Find Tickets


Day Three - 12 March 2020


Sponsors, prize money, and race distances are correct as of The Festival 2019, these are subject to change. 

Start Times




Prize Money


The Marsh Novices’ Chase (Grade 1)

2m abt 4f




The Pertemps Network Final (A Handicap Hurdle Race) (Listed)

Abt 3m




The Ryanair Steeple Chase (Grade 1)
(feature race)

2m abt 5f




The Stayers’ Hurdle (Grade 1)

abt 3m




The Brown Advisory & Merriebelle Stable Plate (A Handicap Steeple Chase) (Grade 3)

2m abt 5f




The National Hunt Breeders Supported By Tattersalls Mares Novices’ Hurdle (Grade 2)

2m 1f




The Fulke Walwyn Kim Muir Challenge Cup Handicap Steeple Chase (0-145)

3m abt 2f



Cookie Policy

We use “cookies” to help enhance your experience and improve the functionality of our website. You can find out more in our cookie policy. We also serve cookies, some with chocolate chips, on our racecourses.