Skip to main content Skip to site footer


Press Release 12th July 2023 Haydock Park

Entries are revealed today for Haydock Park’s best race of the Flat season, the Group One Betfair Sprint Cup. The £400,000 contest is staged over six furlongs and forms part of the QIPCO British Champions Series.

The 42 entries include Little Big Bear and Shaquille, who are the 5-1 joint favourites with race sponsor Betfair. The duo could potentially meet this Saturday in the Group One Pertemps Network July Cup at Newmarket.

The Betfair Sprint Cup is one of the few Group One races to have eluded Little Big Bear’s trainer, Aidan O’Brien, who has five entries in total. Little Big Bear is a course and distance winner having landed the Group Two Sandy Lane Stakes in May prior to finishing to Shaquille in the Group One Coronation Cup at Royal Ascot last month.

There is a scatchings deadline for the Betfair Sprint Cup on Tuesday 22nd August with the five-day confirmation and £20,000 supplementary entry stages following on Monday 4th September.

Betfair Sprint Cup (Group 1) (British Champions Series) 6f

Haydock Park. 3.30pm, Saturday 9th September 

  • Aesop's Fables (IRE) 3 M Tabor/D Smith/Mrs J Magnier/Westerberg Aidan O'Brien Ireland
  • Albasheer (IRE) 5 Taylor's Bloodstock Ltd Archie Watson
  • Annaf (IRE) 4 FOSNIC RACING Michael Appleby
  • Art Power (IRE) 6 King Power Racing Co Ltd Tim Easterby
  • Azure Blue (IRE) 4 Mr P Appleton & Mrs Anne Elliott Michael Dods
  • Brad The Brief 6 Chasemore Farm Hugo Palmer
  • Cold Case 3 Sheikh Mohammed Obaid Al Maktoum K. R. Burke
  • Desert Cop 3 Mr J. C. Smith Andrew Balding
  • Emaraaty Ana 7 Sheikh Mohammed Obaid Al Maktoum Kevin Ryan
  • Flaming Rib (IRE) 4 Dale Dolan Dooley Owen Hugo Palmer
  • Garrus (IRE) 7 Mrs Susan Roy Charles Hills
  • Go Athletico (FR) 5 Team Valor International/Shamrock Tbreds Adrian McGuinness Ireland
  • Great State 3 AlMohamediya Racing Richard Fahey
  • Happy Romance (IRE) 5 The McMurray Family Richard Hannon
  • Isaac Shelby 3 Wathnan Racing Brian Meehan
  • Khaadem (IRE) 7 Mrs Fitri Hay Charles Hills
  • Kinross 6 Mr Marc Chan Ralph Beckett
  • Lezoo 3 Marc Chan & Andrew Rosen Ralph Beckett
  • Little Big Bear (IRE) 3 D.Smith,Mrs J.Magnier,M.Tabor,Westerberg Aidan O'Brien Ireland
  • Meditate (IRE) 3 M Tabor/D Smith/Mrs J Magnier/Westerberg Aidan O'Brien Ireland
  • Mitbaahy (IRE) 4 Mr Hasan Mefareh Alajmi & Fawzi Nass Roger Varian
  • Ocean Quest (IRE) 3 J. Kirkland/Mrs. J.M. Ryan Mrs J. Harrington Ireland
  • Regional 5 Future Champions Racing Regional Edward Bethell
  • Rohaan (IRE) 5 Mr Kieran McCabe & Mr Paul Byrne David Evans
  • Royal Aclaim (IRE) 4 Sheikh Juma Dalmook Al Maktoum James Tate
  • Rumstar 3 Mr Vincent Ward Jonathan Portman
  • Run To Freedom 5 Mr Godfrey Wilson Henry Candy
  • Sacred 5 Cheveley Park Stud William Haggas
  • Saint Lawrence (IRE) 5 Mr D. J. Deer Archie Watson
  • Sakheer (IRE) 3 KHK Racing Roger Varian
  • Sandrine 4 Miss K. Rausing Andrew Balding
  • Sense of Duty 4 St Albans Bloodstock Limited William Haggas
  • Shaquille 3 Hughes, Rawlings, O'Shaughnessy Julie Camacho
  • Shartash (IRE) 3 H.H. Aga Khan J. P. Murtagh Ireland
  • Shouldvebeenaring 3 Middleham Park Racing XVIII Richard Hannon
  • Spycatcher (IRE) 5 Highclere T'BredRacing-Adriana Zaefferer K. R. Burke
  • Swingalong (IRE) 3 Sheikh Juma Dalmook Al Maktoum K. R. Burke
  • The Antarctic (IRE) 3 Magnier/Tabor/Smith/Westerberg/Brant Aidan O'Brien Ireland
  • Tiber Flow (IRE) 4 Jon and Julia Aisbitt William Haggas
  • Vadream 5 Mr D. R. J. King Charlie Fellowes
  • Wodao (FR) 3 Atlantic Thoroughbreds Donnacha Aidan O'Brien Ireland
  • Zain Claudette (IRE) 4 Mr Saeed H. Altayer Ismail Mohammed


42 entries
8 Irish-trained

Betfair Sprint Cup, Betfair odds:

  • 5-1 Little Big Bear. Shaquille
  • 6-1 Azure Blue. Kinross 6 Mr Marc Chan Ralph Beckett
  • 8-1 Spycatcher
  • 10-1 Isaac Shelby, Sacred
  • 14-1 Art Power, Emaraaty Ana, Khaadem, Sense of Duty, Vadream
  • 16-1 Lezoo, Sandrine, Tiber Flow
  • 20-1 Flaming Rib, Garrus, Ocean Quest, Rohaan, Sakheer, Shouldvebeenaring
  • 25-1 Aesop's Fables, Cold Case, Go Athletico, Great State, Happy Romance, Meditate, Regional, Royal Aclaim, Run To Freedom, Saint Lawrence, Shartash, The Antarctic, Zain Claudette
  • 33-1 Annaf, Brad The Brief, Desert Cop, Mitbaahy, Swingalong, Wodao



Cookie Policy

We use “cookies” to help enhance your experience and improve the functionality of our website. You can find out more in our cookie policy. We also serve cookies, some with chocolate chips, on our racecourses.