Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Latest QIPCO Guineas entries news

Article 21st April 2021 Newmarket

By Graham Clark

Yesterday saw a scratchings deadline for the first two Classics of the season, the QIPCO 2000 Guineas (Saturday 1st May) and QIPCO 1000 Guineas (Sunday 2nd May). The two Group One contests both take place on the Rowley Mile at Newmarket and are the first two races in the QIPCO British Champions Series.


The five-day confirmation stage and £30,000 supplementary entry stage for both races is Monday 26th April.


One horse that could potentially be added to the QIPCO 2000 Guineas field as a supplementary entry is Mutasaabeq, who was last seen when recording an impressive six length victory in a conditions contest over seven furlongs at Newmarket last week. Home-bred by the late Sheikh Hamdan Al Maktoum’s Shadwell operation, the Invincible Spirit colt is out of 2009 1000 Guineas heroine Ghanaati.


Trainer Charlie Hills said: “He’s in great form after his run at Newmarket, he didn’t lose much weight and he seems to have taken the race very well.


“We haven’t spoken (about supplementing him for the 2000 Guineas) yet, it’s something we probably need to talk about for the rest of the week and decide by the end of the week really.


“We’ll certainly see him in Pattern company next time, but I’m not sure where yet – we’ll discuss it with the family and go from there.”


QIPCO 2000 GUINEAS STAKES (Group 1) (British Champions Series)

A Case of You (IRE) 3 9 0 Gary Devlin Adrian McGuinness

Albadri (IRE) 3 9 0 Alsharq racing Jane Chapple-Hyam

Battleground (USA) 3 9 0 Mr M. Tabor, D. Smith & Mrs John Magnier Aidan O'Brien

Chindit (IRE) 3 9 0 Mr Michael Pescod Richard Hannon

Devilwala (IRE) 3 9 0 Amo Racing Limited & Arjun Waney Rbbalph Beckett

Ilza'eem (FR) 3 9 0 KHK Racing Ltd & Shaikh Duaij Al Khalifa Simon & Ed Crisford

Legion of Honour (GB) 3 9 0 Teme Valley Roger Varian

Lucky Vega (IRE) 3 9 0 Zhang Yuesheng Mrs J. Harrington

Mac Swiney (IRE) 3 9 0 Mrs J. S. Bolger J. S. Bolger

Master of The Seas (IRE) 3 9 0 Godolphin Charlie Appleby

Method (IRE) 3 9 0 Manton Park Racing Martyn Meade

Military Style (USA) 3 9 0 Mrs John Magnier,Mr M.Tabor & Mr D.Smith Aidan O'Brien

Mystery Smiles (IRE) 3 9 0 King Power Racing Co Ltd Andrew Balding

Naval Crown (GB) 3 9 0 Godolphin Charlie Appleby

One Ruler (IRE) 3 9 0 Godolphin Charlie Appleby

Poetic Flare (IRE) 3 9 0 Mrs J. S. Bolger J. S. Bolger

Prince Lancelot (GB) 3 9 0 A. Gilibert Fabrice Chappet

Sayf Al Dawla (GB) 3 9 0 Miss S. E. Wall Peter Chapple-Hyam

St Mark's Basilica (FR) 3 9 0 Mr D. Smith, Mrs J. Magnier, Mr M. Tabor Aidan O'Brien

The Rosstafarian (IRE) 3 9 0 Middleham Park Racing LXXXVII Hugo Palmer

Thunder Moon (IRE) 3 9 0 Mrs C. C. Regalado-Gonzalez Joseph Patrick O'Brien

Van Gogh (USA) 3 9 0 M Tabor/D Smith/Mrs Magnier/Mrs Nagle Aidan O'Brien

Wembley (IRE) 3 9 0 Mr M. Tabor, D. Smith & Mrs John Magnier Aidan O'Brien


25 entries remain


QIPCO 1000 GUINEAS STAKES (Group 1) (British Champions Series)

Alcohol Free (IRE) 3 9 0 Mr J. C. Smith Andrew Balding

Baby Alya (IRE) 3 9 0 Mr Jaber Abdullah Kevin Ryan

Dubai Fountain (IRE) 3 9 0 Sheikh Hamdan Bin Mohammed Al Maktoum Mark Johnston

Fev Rover (IRE) 3 9 0 Nick Bradley Racing 43 & Partner Richard Fahey

Hello Me (IRE) 3 9 0 Martley Hall Stud Ltd. Joseph Parr

Lullaby Moon (GB) 3 9 0 Amo Racing Limited & Mr Charles Obank Ralph Beckett

Miss Amulet (IRE) 3 9 0 Mrs Doreen Tabor K. J. Condon

Mother Earth (IRE) 3 9 0 Mr D. Smith, Mrs J. Magnier, Mr M. Tabor Aidan O'Brien

Pretty Gorgeous (FR) 3 9 0 Mr John C. Oxley Joseph Patrick O'Brien

Queen's Speech (USA) 3 9 0 Mr D. Smith, Mrs J. Magnier, Mr M. Tabor Aidan O'Brien

Sacred (GB) 3 9 0 Cheveley Park Stud William Haggas

Saffron Beach (IRE) 3 9 0 Mrs B. V. Sangster, J Wigan & O Sangster Jane Chapple-Hyam

Santa Barbara (IRE) 3 9 0 Mrs.J Magnier/M Tabor/D Smith/Westerberg Aidan O'Brien

Seattle Rock (GB) 3 9 0 Mr J. C. Smith Sylvester Kirk

Snowfall (JPN) 3 9 0 Mr D. Smith, Mrs J. Magnier, Mr M. Tabor Aidan O'Brien

Star of Emaraaty (IRE) 3 9 0 Mr Teruya Yoshida John & Thady Gosden

Statement (IRE) 3 9 0 Ballylinch Stud 1 Martyn Meade

Teona (IRE) 3 9 0 Mr Ali Saeed Roger Varian

Thunder Beauty (IRE) 3 9 0 David K Kelly K. J. Condon

Vadream (GB) 3 9 0 Mr D. R. J. King Charlie Fellowes 


20 remain


About QIPCO British Champions Series

QIPCO British Champions Series showcases 35 of the UK’s finest Flat races, including three of the world’s top 10. The Series features at all of the UK’s most iconic Flat festivals, from the Derby and St Leger, to Glorious Goodwood and Royal Ascot, presenting unparalleled, quality racing across 10 of the country’s finest racecourses.

The Series exhibits world-class sporting action across five different categories – Sprint, Mile, Middle Distance, Long Distance and Fillies & Mares.

Five top-class races mark the climax of the Series on the Ultimate Raceday, QIPCO British Champions Day at Ascot on Saturday 16th October, where the world’s best compete at the nation’s richest raceday.

Put simply, QIPCO British Champions Series shines the spotlight on the best horses, the best jockeys and the best racecourses, so that millions worldwide can follow the finest Flat racing.

For more info on QIPCO British Champions Series and Day visit


Cookie Policy

We use “cookies” to help enhance your experience and improve the functionality of our website. You can find out more in our cookie policy. We also serve cookies, some with chocolate chips, on our racecourses.