Skip to main content Skip to site footer

The Royal Bahrain Sun Chariot Stakes

Article 29th September 2022 Newmarket


The Sun Chariot Stakes was established in 1966 and commemorates the outstanding filly Sun Chariot. Bred by The National Stud and owned by King George VI, Sun Chariot won the Fillies’ Triple Crown (1000 Guineas, Oaks and St Leger) in 1942. Due to World War II, all of her Classic victories came on the July Course at Newmarket. She was trained by Fred Darling and partnered by Sir Gordon Richards for all her Classic triumphs.

Initially the Sun Chariot Stakes was a Group Two race staged over 10 furlongs and restricted to three year old fillies. It was opened up to older fillies and mares in 1974 and was reduced in distance to a mile in 2000. In 2004 it was upgraded to Group One status and currently forms part of the QIPCO British Champions Series.


Multiple Winners

Three-time scorer Sahpresa (2009, 2010, 2011) is the only multiple winner since 2000.


Leading jockey

Ryan Moore is the leading jockey since 2000 with three victories – Integral (2014), Alice Springs (2016) and Roly Poly (2017).


Leading trainer

Aidan O’Brien and Rod Collet are the leading trainers since 2000 with three wins each. Collet was responsible for triple winner Sahpresa (2009, 2010, 2011) while O’Brien was successful with Halfway To Heaven (2008), Alice Springs (2016) and Roly Poly (2017).


Leading owner

Coolmore syndicates involving Sue Magnier, Michael Tabor and Derrick Smith are the leading owner since 2000 courtesy of Halfway To Heaven (2008), Alice Springs (2016) and Roly Poly (2017).



Majestic Roi (2007), Sahpresa (2009) and Billesdon Brook (2019) were all returned at 16-1 and are the longest-priced winners since 2000.

Dress To Thrill (2002) and Esoterique (2015) are the two shortest-priced winners since 2000 at 11-8.


Overseas-trained winners

IRELAND (4): Dress To Thrill (2002), Halfway To Heaven (2008), Alice Springs (2016), Roly Poly (2017)

FRANCE (5): Sahpresa (2009, 2010, 2011), Siyouma (2012), Esoterique (2015)

Fastest winner

Sahpresa (2009) - 1m 34.40s

Sun Chariot/1000 Guineas Double

Since 2000, two fillies have won the 1000 Guineas and followed up on the Rowley Mile in the Sun Chariot Stakes. Attraction won both contests in 2004 while 2018 1000 Guineas heroine Billesdon Brook followed up in the Sun Chariot Stakes the following season.


Roll of Honour (Since 2000)

YEAR     WINNER               AGE        OWNER                               TRAINER                             JOCKEY                               SP           RAN

2021        Saffron Beach        3 Lucy Sangster, James Wigan, Ollie Sangster Jane Chapple-Hyam William Buick                              5-1           12

2020       Nazeef                   4             Hamdan Al Maktoum            John Gosden                        Jim Crowley                              17-2         12

2019        Billesdon Brook      4             Pall Mall / McCreery             Richard Hannon                    Sean Levey                              16-1          9

2018        Laurens                  3             John Dance                          Karl Burke                             Daniel Tudhope                              11-4F       9

2017        Roly Poly               3             Tabor / Smith / Magnier       Aidan O'Brien IRE                 Ryan Moore                              4-1           13

2016        Alice Springs         3             Tabor / Smith / Magnier       Aidan O'Brien IRE                 Ryan Moore                              13-8F       8

2015        Esoterique             5             Édouard de Rothschild         André Fabre FR                   Pierre-Charles Boudot   11-8F        9

2014        Integral                  4             Cheveley Park Stud             Sir Michael Stoute                 Ryan Moore                              7-2CF     7

2013        Sky Lantern           3             Brian Keswick                       Richard Hannon Sr                Richard Hughes                              7-4F       7

2012        Siyouma                 4             Robert Jeffcock                    François Doumen  FR           Gérald Mossé                              12-1          8

2011         Sahpresa                6             Teruya Yoshida                     Rod Collet FR                       Christophe Lemaire  13-8F       8

2010        Sahpresa                5             Douglas McIntyre                 Rod Collet FR                       Christophe Soumillon               9-2          11

2009       Sahpresa                4             Douglas McIntyre                 Rod Collet FR                       Ted Durcan                              16-1          8

2008       Halfway to Heaven 3            Tabor / Smith / Magnier       Aidan O'Brien IRE                 Seamie Heffernan                             8-1           10

2007       Majestic Roi            3             Jaber Abdullah                     Mick Channon                       Darryll Holland                              16-1          9

2006       Spinning Queen    3             Marston / Cavendish            Barry Hills                             Michael Hills                              12-1          5

2005       Peeress                  4             Cheveley Park Stud             Sir Michael Stoute                 Kevin Darley                              7-1           10

2004      Attraction              3             10th Duke of Roxburghe      Mark Johnston                      Kevin Darley                              11-4          5

2003       Echoes in Eternity 3            Godolphin                             Saeed bin Suroor                  Jamie Spencer                              9-1           10

2002       Dress to Thrill         3             Moyglare Stud Farm             Dermot Weld IRE                 Pat Smullen                              11-8F        10

2001        Independence       3             Cliveden Stud                      Ed Dunlop                            Kieren Fallon                              5-2F        16

2000      Danceabout           3             Bloomsbury Stud                  Geoff Wragg                        Darryll Holland                              9-2          9


Cookie Policy

We use “cookies” to help enhance your experience and improve the functionality of our website. You can find out more in our cookie policy. We also serve cookies, some with chocolate chips, on our racecourses.