Skip to main content Skip to site footer


Press Release 24th May 2022 Warwick

The Equi-Trek Frequent Runner Scheme reaches its climax at Warwick’s Wigley Property Raceday tomorrow (Wednesday 25th May).

Sponsored by Equi-Trek, the largest producer of horseboxes and trailers in the UK, the 2021/2022 Frequent Runner Championship got underway with Warwick’s two-day meeting on 21st and 22nd September.

The aim is to reward trainers who run horses regularly at the quartet of Jockey Club Racecourses in the South West – Cheltenham, Exeter, Warwick and Wincanton.

All qualifying races are allocated a star rating (* to *****) with trainers awarded full points (star rating) for their first runner and half points for additional runners in the same race. These are based on the average numbers of runners a race has attracted over the previous two or three years as follows:

1 star - 18 plus runners
2 stars - 15-17
3 stars - 12-14
4 stars – 8-11
5 stars – less than 8

Trainers were awarded full points for their first runner and half points for additional runners in the same race. Races at The Festival™ at Cheltenham and Hunter Chases are excluded.

There are two categories of trainer in the Equi-Trek Frequent Runner Scheme – those with 40 or more horses and tHOSE with fewer than 40 horses in training.

The successful trainer in the 40 horses or more category wins the use of an Equi-Trek horsebox for a year while the winning handler in the less than 40 horses category gains a hospitality box at The Festival™ in 2023.

Latest Standings

40 or more horses in training category
Philip Hobbs 471
Colin Tizzard 440
Dan Skelton 437.5
Paul Nicholls 432
Fergal O'Brien 346.5
Alan King 310.5
Nigel Twiston-Davies 289
Jonjo O'Neill 278
David Pipe 272.5
Nicky Henderson 261.5

Under 40 horses in training category
Jeremy Scott 210.5
Chris Down 155
Christian Williams 141.5
Seamus Mullins 126
Jane Williams 125
Ian Williams 121.5
Sue Gardner 110.5
Robert Walford 101
Harriet Brown 95
Henry Daly 90

The Frequent Runner Championship was established in 1992. Initially limited to races run at Cheltenham, it was expanded to cover all four racecourses Jockey Club Racecourses in the South West region for the 2014/15 season onwards.


Cookie Policy

We use “cookies” to help enhance your experience and improve the functionality of our website. You can find out more in our cookie policy. We also serve cookies, some with chocolate chips, on our racecourses.