Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Oops, your browser is out of date - Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.


The magners cheltenham gold cup

On Day Four at The Festival™ presented by Magners


The Magners Cheltenham Gold Cup is the most prestigious steeplechase found anywhere in the world.


The cream of British and Irish staying chasers will be lining up for what is known as the Blue Riband of steeple chasing, and the small matter a total of £625,000 in first prize. Many of the past winners of this race such as Best Mate, Kauto Star and Denman to name just three have become legendary names in the world of Jump racing.

last season's winner


Al Boum Photo (12/1) provided Willie Mullins with a first victory in Jump racing's Blue Riband event, the £625,000 G1 Magners Cheltenham Gold Cup following a thrilling two and a half-length victory in the three and a quarter-mile championship chase.


Ridden by Paul Townend, the seven-year-old son of Buck's Boum took the lead at the second-last fence and galloped on relentlessly following the final fence to defeat the Tony Martin-trained Anibale Fly (22/1), the mount of Barry Geraghty. Nigel Twiston-Davies' Bristol De Mai (18/1) was a further three and three-quarter lengths behind in third.


Closutton handler Mullins has saddled the runner-up in six editions of the Gold Cup and he was delighted to finally enter the winner's enclosure in the iconic contest.


Ireland's champion Jump trainer recorded his 65th victory at The Festival™ presented by Magners in total, making him the winning-most trainer in the history of the meeting.


Roll of Honour

(2013 - 2019)


Al Boum Photo


Willie Mullins (Ire)


Native River


Colin Tizzard


Sizing John


Jessica Harrington (Ire)


Don Cossack


Gordon Elliott (Ire)




Mark Brackstock


Lord Windermere


Jim Culloty (Ire)


Bobs Worth


Nicky Henderson




The Magners Cheltenham Gold Cup, run over three miles and two-and-a-half furlongs, has a history longer than most races at The Festival. The first ‘Cheltenham Gold Cup’ took place in July 1819 and was a Flat race over three miles on Cleeve Hill, overlooking the present racecourse. The inaugural winner, Spectre, won a prize of 100 guineas for his owner.


It wasn’t until 12 March 1924 when the race was run as we know it now, although in those days it took place on what is now the Old Course and was overshadowed by the National Hunt Chase. That first renewal was won by the five-year-old Red Splash who earned connections £685!


The race was first abandoned due to frost in 1931 and in 1937 due to flooding, but the five intervening years saw the most prolific horse in the race’s history – Golden Miller. He won five consecutive Gold Cups between 1932 and 1936 and also managed a Grand National for good measure in 1934.


The Vincent O’Brien-trained Cottage Rake became the first multiple winner in the post-war era winning all three renewals from 1948-50. Such was his success that he helped to popularise the Gold Cup, and The Festival™ itself, with the Irish public.


During the 1960s the legendary Arkle cemented his name in racing’s Hall of Fame by winning all three renewals from 1964-66. Such was Arkle’s superiority prior to his final victory that he was sent off the 1-10 favourite and the Tom Dreaper-trained icon remains the shortest-priced winner in the race’s history.


Perhaps the most remarkable feat by a trainer came in 1983 when Michael Dickinson saddled the first five finishers. Bregawn, ridden by Graham Bradley came out on top but can you name the other four? Captain John, Wayward Lad, Silver Buck and Ashley House, in case you were left scratching your head.


Dawn Run created another piece of history in 1986 when Paddy Mullins’ mare became the first, and only, horse to date to win both the Gold Cup and the Champion Hurdle.


Arguably, the most popular Gold Cup winner came in 1989 when the ‘nation’s favourite’ Desert Orchid stormed up the Cheltenham hill under Simon Sherwood. The bumper crowd was ecstatic but twelve months later the ecstasy turned to shock when 100-1 outsider Norton’s Coin bloodied the noses of his more-fancied rivals. Trained by Permit Holder Sirrel Griffiths, Norton’s Coin remains the biggest-priced winner in the race’s history.


A new era of domination began in 2002 when Best Mate, trained by Henrietta Knight, won the first of three consecutive Gold Cups. His final victory in 2004 confirmed him as only the fourth horse to have won the race three or more times.


The Paul Nicholls-trained Kauto Star outclassed his rivals in 2007 but twelve months later he had no answer to his strong-travelling tablemate Denman. In 2009, the pair locked horns again but with Denman only just recovered from a heart condition, Kauto Star gained revenge and became the first horse to regain The Gold Cup.


In 2013, Bob’s Worth gave Nicky Henderson his second Gold Cup winner in three years following the success of Long Run in 2011. The 2014 renewal saw Lord Windermere prevail in a dramatic renewal and 2015 had its fair share of drama as Coneygree became the first novice since Captain Christy in 1974 to lift the Gold Cup.


Recent renewals have seen trainers win the race for the first time with Don Cossack, Sizing John and Native River landing the spoils for Gordon Elliott, Jessica Harrington and Colin Tizzard respectively. The last of those was an epic race as Native River and Might Bite went head-to-head from flagfall before the former found a little extra on the final climb up the hill to land the biggest prize in Jump racing.


In 2019, Al Boum Photo provided Irish-trainer Willie Mullins with his first win in the Blue Riband event, with Paul Townend riding.


Who will be crowned The Magners Cheltenham Gold Cup winner at The Festival™ presented by Magners 2020? Book your tickets now for Day Four to find out and join us on Friday 13th March 2020. 

Buy Official Day Four Tickets

Join us on 13th March for Day Four of The Festival™ presented by Magners. Buy your tickets before 10:59am on 2nd December for the best price. 

Find Tickets

Start Times




Prize Money


The JCB Triumph Hurdle

2m 139y




The Randox Health County Handicap Hurdle Race

2m 179y




The Albert Bartlett  Novices’ Hurdle Race

2m 7f 213y




The Magners Cheltenham Gold Cup Steeple Chase

3m 2f 70y




The St. James’s Place Foxhunter Steeple Chase Challenge Cup

3m 2f 70y




Johnny Henderson Grand Annual Handicap Chase

2m 62y




Martin Pipe Conditional Jockeys’ Handicap Hurdle

2m 4f 56y



Cookie Policy

We use “cookies” to help enhance your experience and improve the functionality of our website. You can find out more in our cookie policy. We also serve cookies, some with chocolate chips, on our racecourses.