Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Top jockeys set to contest for more Group One glory in the 2019 QIPCO British Champion Series

Article 2nd May 2019 Epsom Downs

By QIPCO British Champion Series

QIPCO British Champions Series Jockeys and trophies - Epsom.png

Image caption from left to right: William Hill St Leger trophy, Jim Crowley - Darley July Cup trophy, Oisin Murphy - Juddmonte International trophy, Ryan Moore - QIPCO 1000 Guineas trophy, William Buick - QIPCO British Champion Stakes trophy, Andrea Atzeni - Gold Cup trophy, Frankie Dettori - Al Shaqab Lockinge Stakes trophy, Investec Derby trophy.

This weekend’s QIPCO 2000 and 1000 Guineas at Newmarket marks the start of the 2019 QIPCO British Champion Series. To celebrate its launch, QIPCO British Champion Series brought together some of the sport’s leading jockeys along with eight of the most coveted trophies in racing.  The image captures the finest of British flat racing and reflects the world-class series sporting action that awaits.

The QIPCO British Champion Series is contested over five different categories in which horses, jockeys, trainers, and owners, vie to be the greatest. Over a range of distances, these contests demand speed or stamina, and class.  The series culminates with the richest raceday in the British calendar; QIPCO British Champions Day at Ascot.

Last year the six pictured jockeys combined to claim an incredible 23 wins of the 35 races that comprise the QIPCO British Champions Series.  Frankie Dettori topped the 2018 series with a total of seven wins.  Four of those successes were courtesy of the exceptional long-distance performer Stradivarius, who is set to perform strongly again in this year’s series.

Behind Frankie Dettori was Ryan Moore, who celebrated six wins, while Oisin Murphy, QIPCO British Champion Series ambassador and retained rider for Qatar Racing, collected five Group 1 trophies. Godolphin’s William Buick won three series races, including the Investec Derby, with Jim Crowley and Andrea Atzeni each collecting one top level prize last year.

Photo and article credit: QIPCO British Champion Series

Photographer: Tom Shaw

Part of the champion series, you can see the famous Oaks and Derby in action at this year's Investec Derby Festival, book tickets online now


Cookie Policy

We use “cookies” to help enhance your experience and improve the functionality of our website. You can find out more in our cookie policy. We also serve cookies, some with chocolate chips, on our racecourses.