Skip to main content Skip to site footer

The Jockey Club appoints two new Stewards and elects five Members

Press Release 14th December 2020

The Jockey Club today ratified the appointment of two new Stewards and elected five Members at its Winter Meeting.

Board of Stewards appointments

The Lord Grimthorpe and William Rucker will join The Jockey Club’s Board of Stewards on 1st January 2021. The Lord Grimthorpe becomes Deputy Senior Steward, succeeding Julia Budd who has completed three terms as a Steward and continues as Chairman of Epsom Downs Racecourse.

‘Teddy’ Grimthorpe is Racing Manager to Prince Khalid Abdullah and synonymous with some of the leading racehorses ever to grace the Turf, including Frankel and Enable. He was Chairman of the York Race Committee for nine years and was appointed as a Member of The Jockey Club in December 2007.

William Rucker is Chairman of Lazard UK, Marston’s plc, BizSpace and the UK Dementia Research Institute. He is the former Chairman of Crest Nicholson plc and Quintain plc. He is a racehorse owner, Trustee of the Racing Foundation and Member of the Racecourse Committee at Cheltenham. He was appointed as a Member of The Jockey Club in 2013.

Member appointments

Five new Ordinary Members are elected from today:

  • Ian Barlow – Chairman of the Racing Foundation; former Chairman of the Racecourse Association; Director of Goodwood Racecourse and Estates; Trustee of the National Horseracing Museum
  • Bridget Guerin – Chairman of York Racecourse; Member of Beverley Racecourse Board; previously stewarded at Beverley, Thirsk, Ripon and point-to-points
  • Harry Morley – Trustee of the Ascot Authority
  • Penelope Mounsey-Heysham – Chairman of Carlisle Racecourse
  • Julian Taylor – Chairman of Huntingdon Racecourse


Members of The Jockey Club are appointed on account of their knowledge and experience of horseracing, contribution to the sport and a commitment to help The Jockey Club to deliver its mission to act for the long-term benefit of British Racing.

Sandy Dudgeon, Senior Steward of The Jockey Club, said:

“I am very pleased to welcome Lord Grimthorpe and William Rucker to the Board and look forward to working with them.

“I would like to thank Julia Budd for her exceptional contribution to the Board over a nine year period, including as the Deputy to two Senior Stewards.

“I am also pleased to welcome our five new Members, who have been elected on account of their passion for racing and their commitment to our sport.”

The Jockey Club’s Board of Stewards from 2021 will be:

  • Sandy Dudgeon, Senior Steward
  • The Lord Grimthorpe, Deputy Senior Steward
  • Justin Dowley
  • The Baroness Harding
  • William Rucker
  • The Hon Peter Stanley
  • Tim Syder


About The Jockey Club

One of the largest sports businesses operating in the UK today (2019 turnover: £216.5 million), The Jockey Club is at the heart of so many aspects of Britain’s second-biggest spectator sport. We run 15 of the UK’s leading racecourses – large and local, where we’re charged with looking after some of the nation’s biggest events, including the Randox Health Grand National at Aintree, The Festival presented by Magners at Cheltenham, The Derby Festival at Epsom Downs and the QIPCO Guineas Festival in Newmarket. We welcome thousands of racehorses a year to our training centres in Newmarket, Lambourn and Epsom. We run The National Stud in Newmarket and our charity, Racing Welfare, makes help available to all of racing’s people. We are governed by Royal Charter to act for the long-term benefit of British Racing and our Patron is Her Majesty The Queen.


Cookie Policy

We use “cookies” to help enhance your experience and improve the functionality of our website. You can find out more in our cookie policy. We also serve cookies, some with chocolate chips, on our racecourses.