Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Only a Week to Vote for the Prestigious RoR Awards 2024

Press Release 16th January 2024


  • Witness the extraordinary partnerships and career transformations in our new videos of the finalists
  • Public vote open until 5pm on Friday 19 January at


With just one week remaining, the countdown is on for the public to cast their vote on the finalists for the Retraining of Racehorses (RoR) Awards, specifically the Sir Peter O'Sullevan RoR Community Impact and The Jockey Club RoR Horse of the Year Awards. The voting window closes on Friday, 19 January at 5pm, so seize the opportunity to cast your vote and celebrate the remarkable accomplishments of these former racehorses.

The RoR Awards spotlight the exceptional stories of resilience and adaptability as former racehorses embark on new careers, bringing joy and inspiration to people's lives. To participate in the public vote, watch the captivating videos that showcase the remarkable partnerships of these incredible horses.

The newly established Sir Peter O'Sullevan Charitable Trust RoR Community Impact Award seeks to acknowledge the noteworthy contributions of individuals, former racehorse partnerships, or organisations that have had a substantial impact on people's lives through their involvement with former racehorses. The finalists and their supporting videos for this prestigious award are below:

Godolphin and Papineau - Suffolk

Matt Bannon and Dreamisi – Greater London

New Beginnings and Goldream – Yorkshire

Launched in 2014, The Jockey Club RoR Horse of the Year Award recognises the outstanding achievements of RoR-registered former racehorses that have smoothly transitioned into new careers spanning various disciplines, highlighting their remarkable versatility. The finalists and their supporting videos for this distinguished award are below:

Clancy’s Cross owned/ridden by Jenny Bennett – Staffordshire

Que Sera owned/ridden by Jo Hales – Oxfordshire

Red Inferno owned/ridden by Hayley Ward – Hertfordshire

All six finalists will gather at the RoR Awards evening at The Jockey Club Rooms on Wednesday 31 January 2024, where the ultimate winners, as voted by the public, will be revealed. The evening will also feature presentations to this season’s RoR Elite Champions in various disciplines, including dressage, eventing, polo, endurance, showing, and hunting.

David Catlow, RoR Managing Director, said: “The extraordinary stories of each of our finalists highlight not only the adaptability of former racehorses to a wide range of second careers but also the remarkable commitment to the horses’ well-being of so many involved in aftercare. The RoR Awards are an important opportunity to recognise these inspirational thoroughbreds.”

Previous recipients of the Horse of the Year Award include well-known former racehorses such as Liverpool, Monet’s Garden, Beware Chalk Pit, Monkerty Tunkerty, the late HM The Queen’s horse Quadrille, and the incumbent title holder, First Fandango.

The public vote is open now and concludes at 5pm on Friday 19 January. To review all the finalists’ stories and participate in the voting process, visit  The winner will be announced at the RoR Awards evening on Wednesday, 31 January 2024.


Cookie Policy

We use “cookies” to help enhance your experience and improve the functionality of our website. You can find out more in our cookie policy. We also serve cookies, some with chocolate chips, on our racecourses.