Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Oops, your browser is out of date - Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.




View The Latest McCoy Award Scores

In its third year, these awards celebrate the outstanding contribution to the sport, involving all Jockey Club Jumps Racecourses during the 2018/19 season.


Celebrating all that is great about Jump racing, the awards are named The McCoys after Sir AP McCoy, the record-breaking 20-time champion Jump jockey who retired from race riding in April 2015. The awards reflect on the triumphs and the highlights of the season and appreciate every character in the sport. From the unwavering support of owners to the often unsung dedication of stable staff, The McCoys exist to recognise the individuals without whom this sport would not prosper as it does.


Be it horses, stable staff, trainers or owners, these awards seek to reflect and celebrate outstanding contributions to our sport across The Jockey Club racecourses during the 2018/19 season.


The McCoy Awards return on Friday 27 September 2019. 


View the latest mccoy awards scores

Highlights from The McCoy Awards 2018... 


Frequent Runner Championships

Aimed at rewarding trainers who run horses regulary at The Jockey Club racecourses in the South West region 

View More


Below are our winners from The McCoy Awards 2018




Frequent Runner Award, Sponsored by Equitrek


The frequent runner championships are aimed at rewarding trainers who run horses regularly at The Jockey Club racecourses in The South West region. There are two categories with one for trainers who have more than 40 horses in training and one for trainers with 40 or below from totals registered in November. 


2018 winners:

Jeremy Scott (Less than 40)

Colin Tizzard (More than 40)



Leading Owner, Sponsored by Bentley


Recognising two owners who are committed to running horses and winning at Jockey Club Racecourses during the season. Awarded to leading owner with four or more horses in training and leading owner with less than four horses in training.


2018 Winners:

JP McManus (Four or more)

John White & Anne Underhill (Three and less)


CHE-Beach Independent Financial Advisors.jpg

Leading Trainer, Sponsored by Beach Independent


Recognising two trainers who run their horses at Jockey Club Racecourses during the season. Awarded to the leading trainer with 40 or more horses in training and the leading trainer with less than 40 horses in training.


2018 Winners:

Nick Williams (Less than 40)

Nicky Henderson (More than 40)



Leading Jockey, Sponsored by Brewin Dolphin


A new era dawns for Jockeys as every title is sure to be hotly contested and eminently winnable. Points are awarded for wins at all Jockey Club Racecourses with three categories: Professional, Conditional and Amateur.


2018 Winners:

Harry Skelton (Professional)

James Bowen (Conditional)

Lorcan Williams (Amateur)



Horses of the Season, Novice Hurdler & Hurdler, Sponsored by NAF


Recognising outstanding equine achievements across The Jockey Club. Points are awarded for wins at Jockey Club Racecourses for Novice Hurdler and Hurdler.


2018 Winners:

Apple's Shakira - John McManus (Novice Hurdler)

Starfoot - John Marriott (Hurdler)


Horses of the Season, Novice Chaser & Chaser, Sponsored by UBS


Recognising outstanding equine achievements across The Jockey Club. Points are awarded for wins at Jockey Club Racecourses for Novice Chaser and Chaser.


2018 Winner:

Cyrname - Johnny De La Hey (Novice Chaser)

Politologue - John Hales (Chaser)


Judges Choice Award, Sponsored by WO Lewis


2018 Winner:

Tiger Roll 


Pony Racing Achievement of the Season, Sponsored by Winner Events


2018 Winner:

Oakley Brown


Racing Ride of the Season, Sponsored by Natural Green


2018 Winner:

Patrick Mullins 



Horse Performance of the Season


2018 Winner:

Native River


Horse of the Season, Sponsored by Shloer


2018 Winner:

Might Bite

Stable Person of the Year, Sponsored by Racing Post


2018 Winner:

Kate Robinson of Jamie Snowden's yard


Outstanding Contribution Award, Sponsored by Dodson & Horrell 


Recognising a horse, or person that has made an outstanding contribution to the Jump season. 


2018 Winner:

Andrew Thornton

For sponsorship at The McCoy Awards

please email:

Cookie Policy

We use “cookies” to help enhance your experience and improve the functionality of our website. You can find out more in our cookie policy. We also serve cookies, some with chocolate chips, on our racecourses.